Skip to content

WASHINGTON - The United States Senate unanimously passed a bipartisan resolution introduced by Senators Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), and Todd Young (R-Ind.) to establish February 17-24, 2024 as National FFA Week. 

The resolution highlights the important role of the National FFA Organization in developing the next generation of leaders by providing educational and career opportunities to students. The resolution also celebrates the 10th anniversary of the “Give the Gift of Blue” program, which has donated more than 17,000 of the iconic blue jackets to FFA members in need.

“The future of Idaho agriculture is in good hands with FFA’s leadership and service,” said Risch. “I am proud to celebrate the thousands of Idaho FFA members who work diligently to become the next generation of farmers, ranchers, and agricultural industry professionals.”

“The FFA is a dynamic youth organization that fosters agricultural and leadership skill development. This organization supports and educates the farmers and other working professionals of tomorrow. It's good public policy to promote and keep the future of America’s farms and ranches viable,” said Crapo.

“Throughout Hoosier communities and our country, FFA plays a critical role in the development of students through agricultural education. The lessons, tools, and resources gained through the FFA program equip Indiana’s future leaders with the skills needed to succeed in a variety of fields,” said Young. “I’m glad to lead this resolution establishing National FFA Week in support of the more than 13,000 FFA members in Indiana.”

"National FFA Week is a meaningful week for members across our country as we celebrate an organization that is welcoming to all and crucial to developing the next generation of leaders and those who will fill the ever-growing need in the talent pipeline," said National FFA Advisor Dr. Travis Park. "Not only is it an opportunity to share our message with a broader audience, but it's also an opportunity for our FFA chapters and members to celebrate agriculture and agricultural education while thanking their supporters — their local alumni and supporters chapters, agriculture teachers, or local businesses."

In addition to Senators Risch, Crapo, and Young, Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Chris Coons (D-Del.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) also cosponsored the resolution.

# # #