Skip to content

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), and Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kansas) introduced a vote of no confidence resolution, a historic measure that outlines the many ways Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas has failed to fulfill the basic duties of his office. The resolution indicates the Senators’ lack of confidence in the Secretary’s ability to keep the border secure. 

“Under the direction of President Biden, Secretary Mayorkas has failed repeatedly to secure our southern border. Illegal immigrants and illicit fentanyl are flowing into our country at a historic rate,” said Risch. “We are witnessing a national security crisis. I do not have confidence in Secretary Mayorkas’ ability or desire to take necessary steps to avert this crisis and protect the American people.”

“The Biden Administration’s failure to act at the border has created a humanitarian crisis of staggering proportions and fueled the increased smuggling of deadly drugs such as fentanyl into our country,” said Crapo. “I join many Americans in questioning Secretary Mayorkas’ effectiveness at his job while the problems at the Mexican border remain, not only seemingly unaddressed, but also at escalating rates.” 

“There isn’t one American who believes our southern border is secure,” Marshall said. “In the real world, if you fail at your job, you get fired- the federal government should be no different. Under this administration, every state has become a border state. Fentanyl is flowing freely into our country, claiming 300 American lives a day. There is lawlessness on our streets and Sec. Mayorkas continues to look the other way. Sec. Mayorkas is derelict in his duties, and I’d be derelict in mine as a U.S. Senator if I didn’t act. Sec. Mayorkas’ failures have allowed over 400,000 convicted criminal aliens into our country- threatening the safety and security of our nation. When I took an oath to serve in the military and the U.S. Senate, I promised to protect our country from enemies both domestic and abroad. This resolution puts the secretary on notice, and I am proud to have the support of 14 of my Republican colleagues in the Senate. We now look to the House to take the next step, and I stand ready for Sec. Mayorkas’ impeachment trial.” 

Additional cosponsors of the resolution include Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wisc.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), and J.D. Vance (R-Ohio). 

Click HERE to read the full resolution.