Skip to content

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senators Jim Risch (R-Idaho) and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) introduced legislation to reform the nation’s broken permitting and environmental review processes, which are currently delaying key energy, infrastructure, and transportation projects across America. The Spur Permitting of Underdeveloped Resources (SPUR) Act, covers key reforms, including provisions to increase domestic energy and mineral development, ensure federal lands remain open to productive uses, and streamline permitting of energy infrastructure.

“We cannot allow red tape to tie up our rich and abundant natural resources. Unfortunately, the Biden administration bureaucracy has rendered many of these resources nearly useless, which endangers our energy sector, economy, and national security due to foreign reliance and unstable supply chains. The SPUR Act will streamline permitting processes to take advantage of Idaho and the rest of America’s vast mineral, timber, and other energy resources,” said Risch.

“American energy can no longer be held hostage. That’s exactly what’s happening under the Biden administration. Environmental extremists are manipulating a broken permitting process. The bills Senator Capito and I are introducing will fix this problem,” said Barrasso. “We need to lower prices for American families and unleash American energy. The way to do that is to impose strict deadlines and stop endless litigation. We must also block the administration from hijacking the permitting process to kill worthy projects. Our current system stifles development and undermines American energy security. Americans still know how to build things. Today’s broken process won’t allow it. That must change.”

Senators Risch and Barrasso’s SPUR Act is cosponsored by Senate Environment and Public Works Committee Ranking Member Capito (R-W.Va.) and all Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Republicans, including U.S. Senators Mike Lee (R-Utah), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), and Josh Hawley (R-Mo.).

For bill text of the SPUR Act, click here.

For a section by section of the SPUR Act, click here.

For a one pager of the SPUR Act, click here.

# # #