Skip to content

WASHINGTON — Today, U.S. Senators Jim Risch and Mike Crapo (both R-Idaho) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) introduced the Strengthening Enforcement to Curtail Unlawful, Risky Entrance to Flights Act, or SECURE Flights Act of 2022, to prevent the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Transportation and Security Administration (TSA) from allowing illegal aliens to use immigration enforcement documents, such as arrest warrants, as identification when boarding commercial flights. 

Specifically, the Secure Flights Act would clarify that DHS-issued documents, such as arrest or deportation warrants, are not valid for commercial airline travel. Further, if a traveler presents one of those documents, the bill requires the TSA agent to notify Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), Customs and Border Protection (CBP), and local law enforcement to determine whether the individual is in violation of any terms of release. If the individual is found to be in violation, he or she will not be allowed to fly, with an exception if the individual is traveling for purposes of self-deportation.  

“Under the Biden administration, illegal immigrants can present an arrest warrant as a valid form of ID to board a plane,” Risch said. “There is no question this policy tramples U.S. immigration law and threatens our national security. The Department of Homeland Security needs to reverse course now and put the safety and security of Idahoans and all Americans first.”

“Arrest warrants or notices to appear before an immigration judge should not be accepted by the Transportation Security Administration as a valid form of identification to travel on U.S. commercial flights,” Crapo said. “We must have safeguards in place to further ensure the sanctity of our immigration laws and safety of law-abiding travelers and airline crew.”

“The rule of law went out the window when the Biden Administration took office,” Rubio said. “It is dangerous and deranged to allow illegal immigrants to use arrest warrants to board commercial flights and travel throughout our country.”

Additional cosponsors of the bill include U.S. Senators Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), and Shelley Moore Capito (R-W. Va.).

# # #