Skip to content

WASHINGTON - In recognition of their votes to advance conservative principles of government, Idaho Senators Jim Risch, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship, and Mike Crapo, Chairman of the Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee, received high marks from the American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF). Both Senators were recognized for their votes on specific legislation and have been awarded the Conservative Achievement Award from the group.  

Now in its 47th year, ACUF rates members of the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives on their commitment to conservative values by examining their voting records. The group chooses specific legislation as part of its annual rankings that fall under the categories of fiscal and economic; social and cultural; and national security. The rankings serve to differentiate those who are consistently voting to advance conservative principles of government. 

“My service in Washington is guided by the values and priorities of Idahoans, and this rating reflects their wishes and commitment to less spending, less regulations, and overall less government,” said Senator Risch.

“In my more than 200 town meetings, I have heard from Idahoans their concerns ranging from our national debt and our deficit, to a strong national defense, protection of our Second Amendment, and judges who are servants of the law and not makers of it,” said Senator Crapo.“My votes reflect what Idahoans have made clear to me that they want in a government that advances conservative principles.” 

“We are proud to be close allies with these two quintessential Westerners who bring Idaho values to the floor of the Senate each and every day,” said ACU Chairman Matt Schlapp. “We thank Sens. Crapo and Risch for all they do to push our conservative agenda, especially their work defending the freedom to engage in commerce and protecting our Second Amendment rights."

The ACUF’s complete scorecard, including explanations of scored votes and rankings of both Senate and House members can be found here online .